European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, News article, 11 February 2025.

The Commission has released the latest edition of its flagship publication series, She Figures, which presents the most up-to-date and Europe-wide statistics on gender equality in Research and Innovation (R&I).

Since its first publication in 2003, the She Figures report serves as a key source of comparable, Europe-wide statistics on gender equality in Research and Innovation. Through six chapters, the publication traces the ‘career trajectory’ of both women and men, from completing their doctoral studies to entering the workforce and advancing into leadership and decision-making positions in academia. Moreover, the report examines differences in working conditions and research outcomes produced between women and men.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, She figures 2024 – Policy report, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025

The She Figures 2024 Policy Report complements the She Figures 2024 main study by providing an in-depth analysis of key issues relating to gender equality in research and innovation (R&I). While the main study presents comprehensive gender statistics in R&I, the Policy Report expands on these findings by analysing policy landscapes, addressing thematic areas, and identifying data gaps relevant to gender equality. For the 2024 edition, leading experts on gender equality in R&I have contributed four articles that offer evidence-based insights and policy recommendations. These articles explore Gender Equality Plans (GEPs) in research organisations and higher education institutions, data collection and analysis for inclusive GEPs, inclusive gendered innovation through the lens of academic spin-offs, and women’s participation in research teams and the uptake of discoveries.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, She figures 2024 – Handbook, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025.

The She Figures Handbook (2024) provides methodological guidance on the calculation of indicators included in the She Figures 2024 publication. It is intended to strengthen the capacity of stakeholders to systematically produce meaningful, systematic data on gender in research and innovation. Organised by data source, information provided on each indicator includes a brief definition, rationale, computation method and any comments or critical issues for the reader to take into account The handbook also includes a section on the verification and validation of data that outlines coherence checks and additional data considerations taken into consideration in the computation and interpretation of indicators. Finally, the annexes outline important information regarding classification standards to which data for several of the indicators are tied, as well as key terminology and definitions.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, She figures 2024 – Gender in research and innovation – Statistics and indicators, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025.

Equality in research and innovation (R&I) is a core value of the European Union, essential for fostering excellence, diversity, and inclusiveness. The She Figures publication is the European Commission’s flagship report monitoring gender equality in R&I across Europe and beyond. In line with previous editions, She Figures 2024 follows the chronological journey of researchers from higher education into the labour market and on to decision-making and leadership positions. The report supports evidence-based policymaking and promotes gender mainstreaming across R&I policies at both national and EU levels. A significant addition for 2024 is the introduction of a pilot Index: a composite indicator measuring Member States’ progress towards gender equality in R&I. It offers a comparative perspective on gender equality efforts and enhances the She Figures contribution to fostering a more inclusive European R&I landscape.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, She figures 2024 – Infographic, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025.

She Figures monitors the state of Gender Equality in R&I. The 2024 edition highlights improvements and
persisting gaps in comparison with the 2021 edition.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, Evagorou, M., Puig, B., Bayram, D. and Janeckova, H., Addressing the gender gap in STEM education across educational levels – Analytical report, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

Despite significant advances in STEM education and a growing emphasis on gender equality in research and policy circles, women across Europe remain under-represented in STEM careers and among graduates majoring in STEM related fields. This report aims to consolidate current research findings, policy analyses and best practices in relation to gender disparities in STEM education. Its key objective is to systematically identify and analyse the factors at individual, contextual and institutional levels that contribute to the gender gap in STEM education.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, Bridging the gender gap in STEM – Strengthening opportunities for women in research and innovation, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Publication metadata
Strengthening women’s participation in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields is not only a matter of equal opportunities and social justice, but also crucial to meet pressing societal challenges like the twin green and digital transitions. The EU is undertaking steps to foster gender equality in research and innovation at all stages across the European Research Area and European Education Area.

European Commission: European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency, Empowering girls and women in entrepreneurship, science, and technology – 10 lessons learned from ESTEAM fests across Europe, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025.

There could be an additional 5.5 million women starting and managing new businesses in the European Union, if everyone had an equal opportunity to transform their ideas into a business and if women participated in early-stage entrepreneurship at the same rate as 30-49 year old men . In the EU, women account for about 73% of the total number of “missing” entrepreneurs . Women consistently outnumber men in university degrees, but they are underrepresented in STEM disciplines like engineering, technology, and science . This disparity carries through into the professional world: women hold only a quarter of STEM-related jobs and only a quarter of self-employed STEM professionals are women . The gap is even wider in ICT: women only account for 19.4% of ICT specialists.

European Institute for Gender Equality, Gender equality plans in academia and research – Success factors and obstacles, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

In the past few years, key elements that appear to support gender equality work in research and innovation (R & I) organisations and in research funding bodies have been identified. When these elements are present in organisations, efforts towards gender equality are more likely to succeed and contribute to effective change. The success factors discussed below can help to promote gender equality through institutional change in R & I settings.

European Institute for Gender Equality, Francisco Carcelén, C., Janečková, H., Carpentier, S., Traynor, L. et al., Gender-responsive evaluation for a sustainable future for all – GREENA step-by-step toolkit, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The gender-responsive evaluation for an environmental and sustainable future for all (GREENA) step-by-step toolkit provides practical know-how to assess gender impacts and the implementation of gender-responsive evaluation of EU policies and programmes. The toolkit has been contextualised to support the evaluation of European Green Deal policies with a gender perspective, given its relevance as a current EU priority and the urgency to ensure a gender-responsive green transition. Specifically, the toolkit includes examples from four policy areas: transport, energy, agriculture and the circular economy. In the context of the European Green Deal, these policy areas are highly relevant to the EU’s efforts to mitigate climate change and environmental degradation, owing to their environmental and economic significance, and their impact on social well-being, particularly gender equality.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, Gareis, K. and Popov, P., Gender balance in the R&I field to improve the role of women in the energy transition – Country briefs, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The European Green Deal commits members states to make sure the clean energy transition is just and inclusive. However, women are strongly underrepresented in the energy sector, including in energy research and innovation (R&I) and in management. The situation differs between countries. European countries can learn from each other how to tackle their weaknesses and how to reinforce strengths as regards gender balance in the fast-changing world of energy. This document presents a brief overview of the status and main stakeholder initiatives in 35 countries.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, Gareis, K., Dashja, E., Hüsing, T., Popov, P. et al., Gender balance in the R&I field to improve the role of women in the energy transition – Final report and annexes, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This report assesses gender balance in the energy sector and identifies strategies for inclusivity. Women make up only 25% of the workforce in EU energy companies, marginally higher in senior roles. Women's involvement in research and innovation stands at 22%, with significant variations across EU states. The report projects the necessity of adding 200,000 women to the EU27 energy sector by 2050 to attain minimal gender balance. Emphasizing the need to promote STEM careers for women, the report includes concrete recommendation for effective measures.

European Institute for Gender Equality, Gender Equality Index 2024 – Sustaining momentum on a fragile path, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

Since 2010, the Gender Equality Index has set a benchmark for equality between women and men to guide decision-makers on policies and goals for a more balanced and inclusive society across the EU by highlighting what is working and where, and what is not working. Chapter 1 presents the results of the Gender Equality Index 2024, along with key trends since the 2023 edition and between 2010 and 2022. A convergence analysis reveals diverse progress patterns at the national level while providing a broader context for Index findings. Chapters 2–8 summarise the policy context, the EU and country scores in key Index domains and how these scores link to violence against women. An intersectional approach exposes different layers of inequality across domains.

European Institute for Gender Equality, Gender equality plans in academia and research – Roadmap to effective implementation, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Gender equality is a fundamental value of the European Union that is mainstreamed into policy areas and laws to combat gender inequalities in the EU and its Member States. Nonetheless, the field of research and innovation (R & I) is marked by significant gender inequalities. Combating these inequalities entails, among other things, eliminating gender bias in research-related assessment, recruitment and promotion procedures; reducing gender stereotypes; fighting gender- based violence in R & I organisations; creating inclusive working conditions; and promoting research approaches that include a sex/gender analysis.

European Institute for Gender Equality, Gender in research, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Promoting gender equality is a key principle of the EU in all its activities. European research still shows a pronounced under-representation of women, particularly in the hard sciences and in leadership positions. Gender equality in research is essential not only for fairness and inclusiveness, but because it could help address current and future deficits in skilled labour within the EU and support the transition to a fair, green and digital society. Gender equality provides important leverage for enhancing the competitiveness of research and innovation (R & I) organisations in Europe, for increasing their innovation performance and for transforming them into more equitable and inclusive organisations.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, Horizon Europe guidance on gender equality plans, Publications Office of the European Union, 2021.

This Guidance supports organisations to meet the Gender Equality Plan (GEP) eligibility criterion of the Horizon Europe Framework Programme for Research and Innovation 2021-2027. For Horizon Europe calls for proposals with deadlines in 2022 and beyond, applying public bodies, research organisations and higher education institutions, from EU Member States and associated countries, must have a GEP or equivalent strategy in place to be eligible for funding. This Guidance presents the components of the eligibility criterion as set by the European Commission, explains what these requirements mean in practice when developing and implementing a GEP or reviewing the equivalence of existing plans or policies, and provides concrete practical examples, building on existing materials, good practices and various resources that support gender equality in research and innovation (R&I) at national and institutional levels.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, Pépin, A., Andriescu, M., Buckingham, S., Moungou, A. et al., Impact of gender equality plans across the European Research Area – Policy briefs, Pépin, A.(editor), Moungou, A.(editor), Gilloz, O.(editor) and Tenglerova, H.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This document presents seven policy briefs that complement the main report of the study ‘Impact of gender equality plans across the European Research Area’. It covers the role of national and EU policies, examines the monitoring and evaluation of the gender equality plans (GEPs) eligibility criterion in Horizon Europe, and looks at the progress made towards inclusive GEPs and policies. It also focuses on counteracting gender-based violence in research and innovation (R&I), examines intersectional approaches to achieving inclusive gender equality in R&I, and discusses the role of organisational structure and leadership support in developing and implementing GEPs.

European Parliament: Liaison Office in Spain – Barcelona and Marquès, P., Pioneer women of the European Union, Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

The exhibition “Pioneering Women of the European Union” is a tribute to ten exceptional women who contributed to the development of the Europe we know today. Resistance fighters and Holocaust survivors, outstanding professionals in the political, scientific and cultural spheres, these women inspired today’s European Union. Many of them strove to put an end to the horrors of two world wars and promoted the fundamental values of the EU, both from the European institutions themselves and from political activism. Some, in fact, came to preside over the European Parliament, being an example of leadership and commitment. All of them defended the European values of equality, freedom, democracy, solidarity, diversity and respect for human rights.

COM/2020/152 final.

The promotion of equality between women and men is a task for the Union, in all its activities, required by the Treaties. Gender equality is a core value of the EU, a fundamental right 1 and key principle of the European Pillar of Social Rights 2 . It is a reflection of who we are. It is also an essential condition for an innovative, competitive and thriving European economy. In business, politics and society as a whole, we can only reach our full potential if we use all of our talent and diversity. Gender equality brings more jobs and higher productivity 3 – a potential which needs to be realised as we embrace the green and digital transitions and face up to our demographic challenges.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, Women in science, Publications Office, 2009.

Today, women are actively participating in science, while the number of women among the world’s top scientists is growing. In fact, the face of modern science would be unrecognisable without the major contributions made by women. Women still face a lot of obstacles in science which can be summed up using metaphors such as the glass ceiling, the sticky floor and the glass cliff. The role of women in research excellence is still an issue, as well as their low numbers in top positions. That is why policy changes are needed to tap women’s talents and resources to the full.